Delicias y Variedades

Pasteleria y Chocolates Gourmet – Gastronomia – Recetas

Avoiding steam blocking your vision when straining pasta, rice….etc


Today’s post is a simple but very nice tip. At least it has worked for me.
It is a tip for avoiding most of the steam that comes up when you are straining some boiled food like rice, pasta, veggies, etc.
I saw it on a cooking channel some weeks ago. I didnt pay much attention at first because it sounded kind of null to me, but I remembered it couple of days ago when boiling some pasta and I decided to try it out.
And it really worked. I will start using it from now onwards. Especially because it solved a big problem for me. If you have to wear glasses like me, it has probably happened to you that your glasses are steamed up and you cant see a thing in front of you. I used to take my glasses off when straining to avoid not seeing anything and get burned.

Well, the thing is, you have to open your faucet and let cold water run while you drain the pasta or whatever you were boiling. Sounds silly, I know. But it works.

I am not familiar with the scientific fact behind this, but it helps a lot in “dissolving” the steam so only a little quantity of steam remains on the surface of the strainer and food and therefore your vision is not blocked.

Probably you already knew this trick, or know other ways to avoid steam. If you happen to know other tricks, your comments are welcome.

Navegación en la entrada única

Responder

